Aug 16, 2014. - Dec 31, 2017.
The Norfolk Rooms
At The Willoughby-Baylor House
Come see how Hampton Boulevard used to look back in the day. This image is now on view at the Willoughby-Baylor House: Alfred Wordsworth Thompson, The Road Out of Norfolk, oil on canvas, 1888. Click image to enlarge.
The Willoughby-Baylor House, built in 1794, was the long-time home of the Norfolk History Museum.
The Federal-style home with a Greek Revival porch has reopened after an extensive renovation, and now tells the history of our heritage port city in a mix of art and artifacts we are calling The Norfolk Rooms.
These second-floor galleries showcase some of the finest art and artifacts from the Tidewater region, including paintings, sculpture, furniture, and silver.
It's a celebration of a rich history of creativity and culture, and it's free and open to the public, noon to 5 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, at 601 E. Freemason St.