Email Us – or – CALL (757) 664-6200

Chrysler Museum Glass Studio Team

Charlotte Potter

Charlotte Potter
Glass Studio Manager & Programming Director

cpotter@chrysler.org • (757) 333-6286
Charlotte Potter, originally from Vermont, is an artist and designer who uses glass and new media. She received her B.F.A. from Alfred University and an M.F.A. from the Rhode Island School of Design, where she was an instructor. A pioneer in developing glass as a performance medium, her work has been exhibited in museums and galleries internationally.
www.charlottepotter.com
www.charlottepotterdesigns.com

Robin Rogers

Robin Rogers, Glass Studio Assistant Manager

rrogers@chrysler.org • (757) 333-6322
Robin Rogers, a native of Central Ohio, began working with glass in 1995. He earned a B.F.A. from the Columbus College of Art & Design and an M.F.A. from Southern Illinois University. His primary technical focus is sculpting glass forms, and he incorporates electronics and video into much of his work. Robin has worked in glass studios nationwide and ran his own glass business in Missoula, Montana.
www.robinmrogers.com
www.robinandjulia.com

Robert. Click to enlarge.

Robert Holtzscheiter, Administrative Coordinator & Class Registrar

rholtzscheiter@chrysler.org • (757) 333-6299
Robert's the man at the desk, the voice on the phone, the helper in all things.

If you follow the life rule that, secretly, admins run everything, then you know Robert's role.

Click to enlarge

Gayle Forman

Program Assistant & Staff Instructor
gforman@chrysler.org
Forman is an artist and designer whose practice and research focuses on play, imagination, the absurd, and the everyday. Born and raised in Pittsburgh, she was first introduced to glass at the Pittsburgh Glass Center. Gayle received her BFA in Glass from the Rhode Island School of Design in 2014 and has shown extensively on the East Coast. Gayle has recently worked for artist Natalie Jeremijenko in New York City and Wet Dog Glass in Star, North Carolina. Current artistic directions include include performance, video, photography, installation, and sculpture.
www.gayleeforman.com

Joan click to enlarge

Joan Biddle

jbiddle@chrysler.org
Born in Herndon, VA, Biddle received a BFA from Virginia Commonwealth University in 2011. Now living and working in Norfolk, she discovered glassblowing through her studies at school and has pursued further education in the field through scholarships to attend classes at places such as the Corning Museum of Glass, Penland School of Crafts and Pilchuck Glass School.
www.joanbiddle.com
Click to enlarge

Emily Bartelt

ebartelt@chrysler.org
Bartelt is an artist, designer and teacher from West Bend, Wis. Growing up, she split time between Wisconsin, Virginia and Sicily. Fueled by an appreciation and love for the traditions of glass art, she's currently studying glass at Tidewater Community College in Portsmouth. She runs a design and educational study gallery in Norfolk., and has won numerous awards, including the Visual Art Center Director’s Choice Award.
www.emilybartelt.com

Laura click to enlarge

Laura McFie

lmcfie@chrysler.org
McFie is a Hampton Roads transplant. While obtaining a B.S in business at ODU, she randomly took a glassblowing class at TCC. She immediately fell in love with the molten material and forever altered her life. She has since immersed herself in classes, workshops, teaching, and exhibiting her creations throughout the region. With an appreciation of both performance and teamwork, she's fit right in at the Studio.
www.lauramcfie.com

Click to enlarge

Tim Spurchise

spurchiset@gmail.com
Spurchise, originally from Syracuse, holds a B.A. in Studio Art and a B.A. in Art History from Hartwick College in Oneonta, New York. Skilled in both glassblowing and metal sculpture, during his undergraduate career he received six awards for excellence in art and participated in 11 exhibitions. Post-graduation, Tim held an internship at ArtRage Gallery in Syracuse, New York while continuing his education in metal sculpture at Syracuse University. Spurchise currently works as an instructional assistant for the glass department at Tidewater Community College in Portsmouth, and as a staff instructor at the Chrysler Museum of Art Glass Studio.
www.timspurchise.com

Adjunct Faculty

Hannah Kirkpatrick

Hannah Kirkpatrick

hkirkpat@risd.edu
Hannah received her B.F.A. with a concentration in glass from the Rhode Island School of Design. The New Jersey native has been a teaching assistant at both RISD and Pilchuck Glass School. At the Chrysler Museum Glass Studio Hannah teaches teasers and workshops, assists the Studio team, and is developing a range of new work and skills.
www.hannahkirkpatrick.com

Kathy Little

Kathy Little

k.little57@gmail.com
Little, who hails from California, brings 30 years of experience and a robust enthusiasm to her glass practice. She draws inspiration from organic forms and Southern culture, and is knowledgeable in multiple glass techniques. Kathy owns and operates her own glass studio in Suffolk, Virginia, and teaches fusing and other classes at the Chrysler Museum Glass Studio.
www.klittleglass.com

Julia Rogers

Julia Rogers

jrogers@chrysler.org
Rogers is a sculptor who focuses on installation and performance art using glass, metal, and other materials. She holds a B.F.A. from Southern Illinois University and an M.F.A. from Bowling Green State University. Originally from Oregon, Julia owned and operated the Missoula School of Hot Glass in Missoula, Montana, and taught at the College for Creative Studies in Detroit.
www.juliacrogers.com
www.robinandjulia.com

Josh click to enlarge

Joshua Solomon

joshsoulman@hotmail.com
This award-winning glass artist, born in Oceanside, NY and a graduate of Bard College, credits a serendipitous 1999 encounter with a gypsy as his introduction to glassblowing. In 2001, concurrent with his studies at Bard, Joshua began an apprenticeship with glass artist Barry Entner in Rhinebeck, NY. Over the next six years he learned many non-traditional glass blowing and casting techniques. In 2007, Joshua moved to Staunton, VA to further explore his own designs and work with glass artist Minh Martin. With his move to Norfolk in 2011, Joshua focused mainly on commissions and one-of-a-kind works. In the fall of 2012 he joined the assistantship program at the Chrysler Museum's glass studio, and his association with the Studio expands with each passing year.
www.jsolomonsolutions.com

Click to enlarge

Kimberly McKinnis

Mckinnis.kim@gmail.com
Kimberly McKinnis is an artist, educator, and curator originally from Southern California. She holds a BFA in studio art with a concentration in glass and a MFA from the Museum Studies program at the California State University Fullerton. In her personal studio practice she utilizes a variety of media, including silver, glass, video and performance. Her work focuses on themes of identity and introspection.
www.kimberlymckinnis.com

Sarah. Click to enlarge

Sarah Vaughn

svaughn.glass@gmail.com
Sarah Vaughn fell in love with glass while pursuing a BFA at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Over the next 12 years she traveled from coast to coast and abroad working in various public-access and non-profit studios in a variety of capacities. In 2014 Sarah received her MFA from Rochester Institute of Technology. She now works as an instructor at the Chrysler Museum Glass Studio teaching techniques ranging from glassblowing to kiln casting. .
www.sarahvaughnglass.com

James. Click to enlarge.

James Akers

jamesakersart@gmail.com
James Akers is an artist, educator, and mad scientist who has an explosive approach to making. Born in Maryland, Akers graduated in 2015 with a BFA from Alfred University. Thriving on change, and fascinated by waves of all kinds—sound, light, electricity—he is synthesizing what he calls the mindset of the "hacker artist." Currently Akers is teaching neon and glass at the Chrysler Museum of Art and is head processor at Riehl Deal Neon.
www.jamesakers.net

White Knight

Click to enlarge

Colin McKinnon

Colin Mckinnon is a native of Washington, D.C., and has a degree from Duke University. He found his love for glass and the making process at Tidewater Community College in Portsmouth, VA, where he honed his artistic Skill. Colin works in bright colors and traditional, Italian-influenced patterning. He continues to develop his practice through his work at the Chrysler Museum Glass Studio and classes at places such as the Haystack Mountain School of Crafts. He now lives and works in Norfolk, VA.

Studio Assistants

Ashley. Click to enlarge.

Ashley Berkman

Ashley Berkman is a multimedia artist and performer whose works explore the themes of female form, language as a visual medium, and found poetry. She is currently investigating the idea of women as both sexual and intellectual beings, and "sexts" as curated self-expression. She has worked in a wide variety of artistic disciplines and seeks to make connections between them. If given the opportunity, Berkman will eagerly deliver her dissertation on why Jurassic Park is the best movie ever made. She has lived in Africa, worked at Disney World, and ridden her bicycle across America.

Click to enlarge.

Waiting (Fann) Chau

Wai Ting Chau is a visual artist and global explorer. Born and raised in the thriving metropolis of Hong Kong, she has traveled extensively and been immersed in different cultures, languages, and artistic perspectives. Life experienced through this pluralistic lens has led to her discovery of a passion for minimalism and the drive to constantly question the nature of things. Now she continues to devote herself to the perpetual deconstruction of materials, and the messages that lie in the interactions between spaces and forms.
www.waitingchau.com

Click to enlarge.

Yinan Chu

This Chinese native has traveledthe world in pursuit of his passion for glass. He graduated with dual degrees from Xi'an Polytechnic University and Emporia State University in Textile Design and Glass. Chu has worked for The Museum of Glass in Tacoma, Washington, and Corning Museum of Glass in Corning, N.Y. These experiences have informed his artistic practice of glassmaking. Chu has used these skills to compose a narrative of his episodes of sleep paralysis.

Click to enlarge.

Jen Detlefsen

Jen Detlefsen is a Virginia-based glass artist, mother, and veteran. Living and traveling abroad have deeply informed her creative practice, manifesting in the alchemy of mixed-media assemblage, photography, jewelry making, painting, and performance. While completing her associate degree at Tidewater Community College's Visual Arts Center, she explored themes of masculine/feminine dichotomy, double standards, motherhood, and literature's impact on gender roles.
www.jen-detlefsen.squarespace.com

Click to enlarge

Mollie Hansen

Mollie Hansen was born and raised in the great state of Michigan within metro Detroit. She graduated from Centre College in 2016 with a B.A. in studio art and art history. Learning from and working for renowned artist Stephen Rolfe Powell, she plays with color and light to capture shadows and reflections. She makes historical references by playing with the display and process of objects. Hansen has studied both Pilchuck Glass School and Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, and has worked for various glass artists around Detroit, including Epiphany Glass Studio.
www.molliehansen.com

Click to enlarge

Kari Schneider

Born in Columbus, Ohio, Kari Schneider grew up involved in competitive athletics and handmade object design. Staying in the Midwest, she pursued this passion by attending Bowling Green State University, studying Graphic Design in the B.F.A. program. It was here that she saw a hot shop for the first time. Immediately mesmerized by the fluidity of the molten glass and the teamwork required to manipulate it, she became hooked on glassblowing. She has since traveled the U.S. to train and study glassblowing.

Click to enlarge

Samuel Spees

Samuel Spees is an artist, designer, and educator from Dayton, Ohio, who developed a passion for athletics and teamwork. While pursuing football at Centre College, he was drawn to the process of glassmaking. His body of work includes the exploration of lighting in relation to traditional Venetian forms. Using his own personal development as inspirations, he has progressed in relating form to the human body and mind. In 2016, Spees graduated from Centre College with a B.A. in Studio Art.
www.samfspees.com

Click to enlarge

Elean Yang

Elean Yang views the environment around her through lenses of light and movement. A glass artist and dancer, she is drawn to the choreography of gaffers and assistants moving throughout the hot shop. Born and raised in Westerville, Ohio, amidst an athletic family, she was innately attracted to the teamwork, technique, and physicality of the glass medium. Yang utilizes the optic qualities of glass to explore its interactions with materials such as copper, light, and the human body. A recent graduate of The Ohio State University, she holds a B.F.A. in Glass and a minor in Dance.
www.eleanyang.com

Click to enlarge

Tzyy-yi (Amy) Young

Tzyy-Yi (Amy) Young was born and raised in Taipei, Taiwan. She earned a B.F.A. in Ceramics and Glass at the University of Washington, and continued her education at institutions such as Pilchuck Glass School, Penland School of Crafts, and Haystack Mountain School of Crafts. Young's practice isolates what is essential, distilling her surroundings into simple forms and speaking through their arrangement with each other. Capitalizing on her world travels, she continues to investigate the vernacular of her surroundings—creating elegant order out of complicated chaos.
www.tzyyyi.com

Click to enlarge

Aliya Zafar

Aliya Zafar is an interdisciplinary artist exploring the ethereal qualities of interconnectivity through light and shadow. Her studio practice combines digital media, photography, glass, wood, and metals. While pursuing her B.F.A. at the Rhode Island School of Design, Zafar found hot glass, a time-based material capable of vivacious manipulation. She believes this is a medium that lets her explore motifs through luminosity and abstract ideas.
www.aliyazafar.com

 

CURRENT AND PAST ASSISTANTS

Current staff members are listed in bold.
Current assistants are listed in italics.

James Akers: www.jamesakers.net
Brandy Arab: www.brandyarab.com
Nate Avery: www.nateavery.com
Teri Bailey: www.baileyglassworks.com
Sarah Band: www.sarahbandart.com
Brianna Baron: www.briannabarron.com
Emily Bartelt: www.emilybartelt.com
Jason Bauer: www.urbanrobert.com
Ashley Berkman
Joan Biddle: www.joanbiddle.com
Pierre Bowring: http://p-air.weebly.com
Amber Borealis
Dahlia Bushwick: www.dahliabushwick.weebly.com
Mike Butzine: www.spontaneousrevelations.com
Colleen Castle
Eli Cecil
Waiting (Fann) Chau: www.waitingchau.com
Yinan Chu
Jennifer Detlefsen: www.jendetlefsen.com
Sean Donlon: www.seandonlondesign.com
Ali Feeney: www.alifeeney.com
Kelsey Finnie: www.kelseyfinnie.weebly.com
Gayle Forman: www.gayleforman.net
John Forsythe: www.johnsglassdesigns.com
Grant Garmezy: www.grantgarmezyglass.com
Tyler Gordon: www.tylergordon.com
Mollie Hansen: www.molliehansen.com
Van Eric Harned www.vanericharned.weebly.com
Hillary Heckard: www.hillaryheckard.com
Eric Hernandez: www.ericjhernandez.com
Hayley Hodge: www.hayleyhodge.com
Emma Howell: www.emmajhowell.com
Quave Inman: www.quaveinman.com
Annie Jacobsen: www.anniejacobsen.webs.com
Branner Johnston: bljohnston.wix.com/brannerjohnstonart
Karl Jones
Hannah Kirkpatrick: www.hannahkirkpatrick.com
Phillip King: www.phillipjking.weebly.com
Katie Kust: www.katiekustdesigns.com
Trevor Lewis
Melanie Long: www.melanietlong.weebly.com
Meredith Lopez: www.meredithlopez.com
Kathy Little: www.klittleglass.com
Laura McFie: www.lauramcfie.com
Melanie Maglieri: www.melaniemaglieri.com
Kiersten Marshall: www. kierstenmarshall.com
Kimberly McKinnis: www.kimberlymckinnis.com
Colin McKinnon
Kelsie McNair: www.kelsiemcnair.com
Kathryn Murphy: www.kathrynmurphy.virb.com
Beth Netts
Letitia Nichols: letitia-nichols-x6id.squarespace.com
Kayla Ohlmer: www.kaylaohlmer.crevado.com
Mike O'Toole
Jamie Parkerson: www.jamieparkerson.com
Dawn Passineau: www.dawnpassineau.com
Corey Pemberton: www.coreypemberton.com
Suzanne Peterson: www.suzannempeterson.com
Carolyn Riley: www.carolinerileydesign.com
Molly Roderick: www.mollyroderick.com
John Shield: www.johnshield.weebly.com
Kari Schneider
Liesl Schubel: lieslschubel.carbonmade.com
Ben Smith: www.bensmithglass.com
Samuel Spees: www.samfspees.com
Will Sprueill: www.boneheadvisuals.com
Tim Spurchise: www.timspurchise.com
Josh Solomon: www.jsolomonsolutions.com
Jessie Sommer: www.jessiesommer.virb.com
Luke Stone: www.lukestoneart.com
Heather Sutherland: www.hsutherland.com
Ryan Tanner: www.ryantanner.info
Taylor Thornton
Kristi Totoritis: www.kristitotoritis.com
Mike Tracey: www.michaeltracy.net
Sarah Vaughn: www.sarahvaughnglass.com
Hilary Wang: www.hilarywang.com
Emily Warden: emwardportfolio.carbonmade.com
David Wheeler: www.flowingsands.com
Audrey Wilson: www.audreywilsonglass.com
Nathan Windley
Elean Yang: www.eleanyang.com
Tzyy Yi (Amy) Young: www.tzyyyi.com
Madisyn Zabel: www.madisynzabel.com
Aliya Zafar: www.aliyazafar.com