Email Us – or – CALL (757) 664-6200

Chrysler Museum Glass Studio Team

Charlotte Potter

Charlotte Potter
Glass Studio Manager & Programming Director

cpotter@chrysler.org • (757) 333-6286
Charlotte Potter, originally from Vermont, is an artist and designer who uses glass and new media. She received her B.F.A. from Alfred University and an M.F.A. from the Rhode Island School of Design, where she was an instructor. A pioneer in developing glass as a performance medium, her work has been exhibited in museums and galleries internationally.
www.charlottepotter.com
www.charlottepotterdesigns.com

Robin Rogers

Robin Rogers, Glass Studio Assistant Manager

rrogers@chrysler.org • (757) 333-6322
Robin Rogers, a native of Central Ohio, began working with glass in 1995. He earned a B.F.A. from the Columbus College of Art & Design and an M.F.A. from Southern Illinois University. His primary technical focus is sculpting glass forms, and he incorporates electronics and video into much of his work. Robin has worked in glass studios nationwide and ran his own glass business in Missoula, Montana.
www.robinmrogers.com
www.robinandjulia.com

Robert. Click to enlarge.

Robert Holtzscheiter, Administrative Coordinator & Class Registrar

rholtzscheiter@chrysler.org • (757) 333-6299
Robert's the man at the desk, the voice on the phone, the helper in all things.

If you follow the life rule that, secretly, admins run everything, then you know Robert's role.

Staff Instructors

Joan click to enlarge

Joan Biddle

jbiddle@chrysler.org
Born in Herndon, VA, Biddle received a BFA from Virginia Commonwealth University in 2011. Now living and working in Norfolk, she discovered glassblowing through her studies at school and has pursued further education in the field through scholarships to attend classes at places such as the Corning Museum of Glass, Penland School of Crafts and Pilchuck Glass School.
www.joanbiddle.com
Laura click to enlarge

Laura McFie

lmcfie@chrysler.org
McFie is a Hampton Roads transplant. While obtaining a B.S in business at ODU, she randomly took a glassblowing class at TCC. She immediately fell in love with the molten material and forever altered her life. She has since immersed herself in classes, workshops, teaching, and exhibiting her creations throughout the region. With an appreciation of both performance and teamwork, she's fit right in at the Studio.
www.lauramcfie.com

Click to enlarge

Gayle Forman

gforman@chrysler.org
Forman is an artist and designer whose practice and research focuses on play, imagination, the absurd, and the everyday. Born and raised in Pittsburgh, she was first introduced to glass at the Pittsburgh Glass Center. Gayle received her BFA in Glass from the Rhode Island School of Design in 2014 and has shown extensively on the East Coast. Gayle has recently worked for artist Natalie Jeremijenko in New York City and Wet Dog Glass in Star, North Carolina. Currently Gayle is located in Norfolk, Virginia as a Studio Assistant at the Chrysler Museum of Art Glass Studio, where she is a Glass Instructor, and her work can include performance, video, photography, installation, and sculpture.
www.gayleforman.virb.com

Click to enlarge

Emily Bartelt

ebartelt@chrysler.org
Bartelt is an artist, designer and teacher from West Bend, Wis. Growing up, she split time between Wisconsin, Virginia and Sicily. Fueled by an appreciation and love for the traditions of glass art, she's currently studying glass at Tidewater Community College in Portsmouth. She runs a design and educational study gallery in Norfolk., and has won numerous awards, including the Visual Art Center Director’s Choice Award.
www.emilybartelt.com

Click to enlarge

Van Eric Harned

vharned@chrysler.org
Harned, born and raised in Norfolk, studied glass as a non-degree student in the Craft Materials Department at Virginia Commonwealth University. From there, he has worked at various glass studios in Richmond and Hampton Roads, and he is currently an independent visual artist and Glass Instructor at the Chrysler Museum of Art. He's known for exploring the interplay between applied arts, visual arts and music.
www.vanericharned.weebly.com

Adjunct Faculty

Julia Rogers

Julia Rogers

jrogers@chrysler.org
Rogers is a sculptor who focuses on installation and performance art using glass, metal, and other materials. She holds a B.F.A. from Southern Illinois University and an M.F.A. from Bowling Green State University. Originally from Oregon, Julia owned and operated the Missoula School of Hot Glass in Missoula, Montana, and taught at the College for Creative Studies in Detroit.
www.juliacrogers.com
www.robinandjulia.com

Hannah Kirkpatrick

Hannah Kirkpatrick

hkirkpat@risd.edu
Hannah received her B.F.A. with a concentration in glass from the Rhode Island School of Design. The New Jersey native has been a teaching assistant at both RISD and Pilchuck Glass School. At the Chrysler Museum Glass Studio Hannah teaches teasers and workshops, assists the Studio team, and is developing a range of new work and skills.
www.hannahkirkpatrick.com

Kathy Little

Kathy Little

k.little57@gmail.com
Little, who hails from California, brings 30 years of experience and a robust enthusiasm to her glass practice. She draws inspiration from organic forms and Southern culture, and is knowledgeable in multiple glass techniques. Kathy owns and operates her own glass studio in Suffolk, Virginia, and teaches fusing and other classes at the Chrysler Museum Glass Studio.
www.klittleglass.com

Josh click to enlarge

Joshua Solomon

joshsoulman@hotmail.com
This award-winning glass artist, born in Oceanside, NY and a graduate of Bard College, credits a serendipitous 1999 encounter with a gypsy as his introduction to glassblowing. In 2001, concurrent with his studies at Bard, Joshua began an apprenticeship with glass artist Barry Entner in Rhinebeck, NY. Over the next six years he learned many non-traditional glass blowing and casting techniques. In 2007, Joshua moved to Staunton, VA to further explore his own designs and work with glass artist Minh Martin. With his move to Norfolk in 2011, Joshua focused mainly on commissions and one-of-a-kind works. In the fall of 2012 he joined the assistantship program at the Chrysler Museum's glass studio, and his association with the Studio expands with each passing year.
www.jsolomonsolutions.com

 

Chrysler Museum Glass Studio Assistants

Assistantships are designed for students who have completed an initial course of glass study (B.F.A./A.A. or multiple workshops) and are looking to gain practical, professional studio experience in a Museum setting. Studio Assistants help with public glass demonstrations, classes, and general operations of the Studio for up to 10 hours a week for four months. The assistantship is unpaid, but offers many perks, including the opportunity to build skills, perform, teach, and assist world-recognized Visiting Artists. For more information, click here.

CURRENT AND PAST ASSISTANTS

Assistants who made a move to instructor are listed in bold.
Current assistants are listed in italics.

James Akers: www.jamesakers.net
Brandy Arab: www.brandyarab.com
Nate Avery: www.nateavery.com
Teri Bailey
Sarah Band: www.sarahbandart.com
Brianna Baron: www.briannabarron.com
Emily Bartelt: www.emilybartelt.com
Jason Bauer: www.urbanrobert.com
Joan Biddle: www.joanbiddle.com
Pierre Bowring: http://p-air.weebly.com
Dahlia Bushwick: www.dahliabushwick.weebly.com
Mike Butzine: www.spontaneousrevelations.com
Sean Donlon: www.seandonlondesign.com
Ali Feeney: www.alifeeney.com
Kelsey Finnie: www.kelseyfinnie.weebly.com
Gayle Forman: www.gayleforman.net
John Forsythe: www.johnsglassdesigns.com
Grant Garmezy: www.grantgarmezyglass.com
Tyler Gordon: www.tylergordon.com
Van Eric Harned www.vanericharned.weebly.com
Hillary Heckard: www.hillaryheckard.com
Eric Hernandez: www.ericjhernandez.com
Hayley Hodge: www.hayleyhodge.com
Emma Howell: www.emmajhowell.com
Quave Inman: www.quaveinman.com
Annie Jacobsen: www.anniejacobsen.webs.com
Branner Johnston: http://bljohnston.wix.com/brannerjohnstonart
Hannah Kirkpatrick: www.hannahkirkpatrick.com
Phillip King: www.phillipjking.weebly.com
Katie Kust: www.katiekustdesigns.com
Melanie Long: www.melanietlong.weebly.com
Trevor Lewis
Kathy Little: www.klittleglass.com
Laura McFie: www.lauramcfie.com
Melanie Maglieri: www.melaniemaglieri.com
Kiersten Marshall: www. kierstenmarshall.com
Colin McKinnon
Kathryn Murphy: www.kathrynmurphy.virb.com
Jamie Parkerson: www.jamieparkerson.com
Dawn Passineau: www.dawnpassineau.com
Corey Pemberton: www.coreypemberton.com
Suzanne Peterson
Molly Roderick: www.mollyroderick.com
John Shield: www.johnshield.weebly.com
Liesl Schubel: lieslschubel.carbonmade.com
Ben Smith: www.bensmithglass.com
Tim Spurchise: http://www.timspurchise.com
Josh Solomon: www.jsolomonsolutions.com
Jessie Sommer: www.jessiesommer.virb.com
Luke Stone: www.lukestoneart.com
Heather Sutherland: www.hsutherland.com
Ryan Tanner: www.ryantanner.info
Kristi Totoritis: www.kristitotoritis.com
Mike Tracey: www.michaeltracy.net
Hilary Wang: www.hilarywang.com
Emily Warden: emwardportfolio.carbonmade.com
David Wheeler: www.flowingsands.com
Audrey Wilson: www.audreywilsonglass.com
Nathan Windley